Quilts

I am a simple person.  I do not have an extraordinary education.  What I’ve learned has come from the School of Hard Knocks, as my father used to say, or rather more by the seat of my pants than from any class or book.

Maybe I would be a different person had I studied harder in school.  Maybe I’d be further down the path toward Enlightenment if I’d have finished college.  Funny, but I think I’m okay with who I am . . . Now.  But it sure did take me a looooong time to get here.

If I know one thing about myself I know I am colorful.  My past is more akin to the peacock than the sparrow.  What I mean by ‘colorful’ is that I didn’t just have a peaceful life.  I worked hard and struggled harder but in those struggles and work, grew my character and  every situation gave me more color.

Some situations brought more darkness than light, while other memories still shine brightly.  There were many bold colors in my youth, perhaps a mark of fearlessness or stupidity, I’m not sure which. 🙂

There were times in my life when all the colors I’d collected were muted, washed out, and then there were times when everything was more vibrant than ever before.

This has been my life.

I never really appreciated the beauty of a quilt until now.  I look upon them with the same reverence one does with a precious treasure because I think we are all quilts.

We don’t go through life exposed to only one shade or color.  Just think of how boring that would be.  Instead, for better or worse, we are made up of all of our experiences, each one a different color.  By the time we are well into our lives, we are rich with the colors of our Life.

Since I do not believe in wasting time on regrets, I am thankful for the colors in the quilt that is me.  Here’s hoping you are too.

Peace.

3 thoughts on “Quilts

  1. luggagelady says:

    What a fabulous analogy! I’d much rather be the peacock adorned by a hard-fought patchwork quilt than the sparrow hunkering on the sideline in a lifeless blanket of gray…Beautifully expressed! 🙂

    • I started out thinking of Frankenstein believe it or not and how there were all the seams and such from being stitched together and then thought it’s all in the perspective isn’t it? The things we stitch together by surviving and thriving make us all more beautiful I think. Cheers to your own gorgeous work of art! Peace.

  2. SirenaTales says:

    Thank you for this beautiful, honest, human, touching post. Love your wise and apt quilt metaphor–think I’ll borrow that and apply it to my own life. Peace

Leave a Reply

