If It Makes You Happy . . .

We seem to learn from a very early age that our Happiness is dependent on what we do and who we are.  Later we are convinced our Happiness comes from what we have and what we accomplish…

Those who are Enlightened, or are Awakening, understand that Happiness isn’t something you collect or acquire or secure or obtain.  It is something within all of us.  The only difference between the Haves and the Have-Nots are those who have not yet learned that they have Happiness within them.

Today, I awoke in a very crappy mood.  I don’t know why. Hormones?  Early hour?  No sleep?  Anxiety?  It could be a million things.  But I knew to obsess on what might be making me depressed was not the answer.  Instead, I thanked the Universe for providing me another day and I vowed to make it a good one despite what my ego might want me to do.

It was shaky at best in the beginning.  I got out of bed, and mumbled barely audible replies to those who asked me how I was doing.  I juiced.  I took my vitamins.  I laid back down for a moment.  Then I got up and sought the company of others while I still remained somehow tucked in my own cocoon of misery.

It wasn’t automatic.  It took several hours.  But eventually I took that deep breath and realized it really was up to me if I wanted today to be a day filled with Happiness.  Happiness cannot come to you unless you are open and will it into Being.  This is true in particularly hard times where you think even for moments at a time that Happiness is up to others.

It isn’t.

Believe it and it will Be so.

I turned a sour day into a sweet one because I willed it.  It made me Happy.  Instead of the epicly bad mood that I awoke with, I ended the day with a smile on my face and laughter in my heart.  I made that choice.  I decided.

Sure, tomorrow I could wake up and feel things suck as much as I did today, but then we’ll just start the process all over again.  Who’s counting anyway?

It’s not how may times you fail but how many times you get back up.

Peace.

4 thoughts on “If It Makes You Happy . . .

  1. smilecalm says:

    Happiness only happens in the present moment. I find happiness with my mindful breath. May your moments all be happy.

  2. oliviaobryon says:

    Thank you for the inspiration.

  3. Thanks and thank you for your inspiration in teaching, writing and just being Mindful in the world. Peace.

Leave a Reply

