Gratitude

I have always been grateful.  Not just at this time of year but pretty much year round for things or people.  Pretty much run-of-the-mill stuff really.  My family, my friends, my health, etc.

Now, I’ve learned to be thankful for people I don’t even know.  Those I haven’t met yet.  Those whose path I may never cross.  I’m thankful for the Universe in all its epic glory.  The stars, the moon and my ability to view them day in and day out.  I’m thankful for all the beautiful colors of a sunset and the fact that I got to witness it . . . again.  I’m thankful for the smell of winter on the air and the crisp clean scent of the cold that is to come.  I’m thankful that my heart is beating, that I’m still breathing and that I have not lost Hope in humanity.

I am grateful for all my many teachers.  Grateful that I aspire to remain forever a student so that the learning may never end.  I’m grateful for the curiosity I was born with and the people around me who allowed me to explore and wonder and question without judgement.

I am grateful for the Journey and those I have met along the way.  I am grateful my heart has been broken and has become more resilient because of the break.  I am grateful for my failures and humbled by the lessons.  I am grateful that through it all, even in what I thought to be absolute darkness, I loved myself enough to just . . . keep . . . going.

I am grateful for birdsong (even at 3:00 a.m.!) and my ability to allow all other things to disappear into the background.  I am grateful every single day that I see that ceiling and my feet touch the floor.  

And I am grateful that my soul has never stopped dreaming and creating and experiencing Life.  

I am grateful that I learned to be grateful.

Peace.

 

Leave a Reply

