The Stranger Is You

There’s much talk these days about the responsibility we have to one another and the responsibility we have to this planet.  Some people think we don’t have a responsibility to anyone other than their immediate family…

It’s my belief, my opinion, that I have a responsibility to the universe to be the best I can be.  This means when I fail at the above, I get up and try again.  I don’t throw stones, or call people names.  I seek to find similarities rather than differences.  In the end, as far as humans go, we all bleed red blood and if we are talking about the planet beyond just being human, well then, I’d say we are very dependent on everything from fellow creatures to the environmental resources around us.

It’s easy to find fault and point out the problems that exist.  Much harder to find solutions.  That being said however, even without the ability to figure out how world peace can exist, or how to make sure nobody dies of starvation or dehydration, I know with every fiber of my being that I am here to serve others.  I am here to help in any way I can.  It’s not all about me.  It can’t be all about me.  It can’t even be just all about my nucleus which includes immediate family and friends.  It’s more about what I do for complete strangers.

I’ll get right down to brass tacks, since I cannot take the money I make with me when I leave this world, and I have proved myself capable of living with what I have, not what I want, then really, do I care if some of my money goes to help others?  No.  I welcome it.  I will not pretend there are not people in need.  I will not ignore them.  But, I am only one person.  Still, I will do what I can, where I can.

So, I ask you, would you help a complete stranger?  Would you place a limit on your compassion, or would you give without an expiration to the best of your ability?  For me the answer is yes.  It just has to be.  Life for me is about being a part of something greater than myself and I do this by thinking of others. Oh, I have my moments, to be sure, when I forget to be human/e, but more often than not of late, something inside me no longer tolerates my bad behavior and I seek to correct it.

I will ask again, would you help a complete stranger in need?  Would you extend yourself in strength and spirit to ease another’s burden?  Just think of this before you answer truthfully… To someone you haven’t met yet, the stranger could be you.

Peace.Image

One thought on “The Stranger Is You

  1. oliviaobryon says:

    Well said. And, yes, I would help a stranger.

Leave a Reply

